2018 AGM roundup and Roll of Honour

The Minutes of the 2018 AGM have been circulated around the club members by email so for those that missed out or have lost that email, here’s a quick summary of issues discussed, prizes awarded and the 2018 Roll of Honour.

In no particular order:

Confirmation of entry fees for 2019 to stay the same:
Level D (summer series, urban sprint etc) £4 and £2
Level C £6 and £3

Adrian Will thanked all for effort and time over the year and pointed up the fact that this year we officially lose several long-standing and much valued members who are all emigrating south to Edinburgh to enjoy retirements (eventually in some cases): Rob and Anne Hickling, Richard Oxlade and Anne Hoy, Jayne and Alan MacGregor.  Sad to see you go guys and thanks for everything you’ve done over the years for Gramp.

We may be losing a few more key players like these in 2019 due to work commitments which means we need to ramping up officals coaching/mentoring to develop their successors so if you’ve been holding back thinking “I’d like to but don’t have the skills…” now’s the time to come forward please and we’ll start the process asap.

As well as the Forest Sprints, Summer Series, Autumn Sprints and DNC, we put on a number of Level C (Sunday) events and also helped run the British Relay Championships and British Trail O Championships on the same day by strategic deployment of skilled officials and a lot of willingness from other members to pitch in and do whatever was asked of them. Thanks again to all involved in any of these events as they simply cant happen without you.

GMC 2018 Braemar was sold out and David Kirk, Ali Robertson and Ian Hamilton were thanked for their commitment and effort to pulling off another great success. Although not pure orienteering it does raise the profile of both club and sport in the area and nationally.

Committee and other roles update – changes in italics:
David Esson          Chairman
Sarah Wallace      Secretary
Ian Hamilton        Treasurer
Stuart Anderson   Mapping
Adrian Will           Fixtures Coordinator and Officials
Helen Anderson   Membership

Zoe Griffin has volunteered to try and rejuvenate Gramp’s social scene this year as our new Social Sec.
Jonathan Smith now looks after the club stores including Emit controls and stakes etc, while David Esson has taken on the IT side.

Still some vital posts vacant, as you’ll see if you look at the Committee and Contacts page, so if you feel you can help out then please get in touch with any of the committee members to discuss how you can contribute or to put forward ideas. Job shares, external assistance, different way of doing things – anything considered.

Club Championships Overall Trophy Winners

Class 1st  (Trophy)
Junior Women   Morven Farquharson
Junior Men        Sam Griffin
Senior Women  Katrina McLeod
Senior Men       Mark Stockton
Veteran Women    Rachel Scott
Veteran Men         Tim Griffin
Super- Veteran Women (>55)   Lesley Gomersall
Super-Veteran Men (>55)         Bob Daly

John Duncan Cup Medal Winners:

M8        Gold          Fraser Pain
W16      Bronze       Olivia Coman

Grampian Orienteers Roll of Honour for 2018

Scottish Championships
M50S  Kevin Reynard
W60S  Oonagh Grassie
W65L   Ros Evans

M12B   Noah Griffin
M14B  Connor Whitelaw
M40L   Ali Robertson
M70S   Michael Forsyth
W18L   Josie Gomersall

M75L   Neil McLean

Scottish Relay Championships
17+ class  2nd GRAMP 3: Pete Lawrence/Ros Evans/Kevin Reynard

Scottish Orienteering League (SOL)
M12B  Noah Griffin
M35S  David Esson
M60     Richard Oxlade
M75     Neil McLean
W60S  Oonagh Grassie

M55L   Sam Gomersall
W55L   Lesley Gomersall

M40S  Hugh Nicholson
M50L   Tim Griffin

Scottish Urban Orienteering League
2nd   Junior Women, Morven Farquharson
3rd  Junior Women, Kirsty Farquharson

Scottish Score
M55 Pete Lawrence
M75 Neil McLean

2nd M60  Bob Daly
3rd  W50 Rachel Scott

British Long Distance (Individual)
M60S Richard Oxlade
M70S Michael Forsyth
W18L Josie Gomersall

M12B  Noah Griffin
M50S  Kevin Reynard
M55S  Ian Searle
W16B  Olivia Coman
W50S  Ros Nicolson
W60S  Oonagh Grassie

British Trail Orienteering
Standard Course
1st equal   Alan MacGregor
3rd   David Kirk

Elite Course
10th and unofficial Scottish Champion Helen Rowlands

Chairman’s Awards (see Chairman’s report for more details)

Musgrave Trophies:
John Lang – for standing in for Adrian while he was working down south
Carolyn MacLeod  – organising the Beginners sessions to attract new members and continued GJO duties

Chairman’s Quaich:
Ian Hamilton – for many years of service on the committee as Secretary and now Treasurer

Something to say about this? Leave a reply....

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: